• The organisation aims to facilitate the wider dissemination of work by writers in exile and to ensure they have a platform.
  • It aims to raise awareness of literature by writers in exile by organising events such as seminars, workshops, conferences, interactive performances and festivals.
  • It aims to facilitate the publication of work by writers in exile including addressing translation issues. It aims to give a high profile to translators who enable the work of exiled writers to become accessible.
  • It aims to develop literary creativity in the broadest sense within the refugee communities.
  • It aims to work in an education context in schools, colleges etc.
  • It aims to form links with other literary/arts groups.
  • Through literature and literature events, it aims to raise awareness about racism and the abuse of human rights worldwide.
  • It aims to develop dialogue through literature.
  • We aim to ensure that artists of refugee and migrant background receive fair payment and due credit for their creative work by external organisations.

Exiled Lit Cafe

About us

Examples of Our Work


  • Creative writing and exiled literature workshops with and for refugees and exiles

Refugee Week workshops at the Wiener Library; ‘Listen to Me’ with Lynette Craig facilitating at the Poetry Library; Diaspora City; Border Words at Borders bookshop, Oxford Street; Global Refugees with Staffordshire University and Afghan Youth Association; dialogue through literature: Across the Divide workshops including Writing the Difference at Artiquea Syrian gallery and the Jewish Museum.


  • Workshops with established exiled writers for schools, colleges and other organisations and groups.

West London Free School, year 8; City and Islington Further Education College, Movement against Xenophobia conference.

  • Mentoring and Translation Scheme
  • Publications

Exiled Ink magazine. Anthologies: Kurdish literature, Across the Divide and chap books by individual exiled writers. Anthologies of literature by exiled writers published by Five Leaves www.fiveleaves.co.uk

  • Live Literature events

African Voices for Black History Month at Richmond Library; Into the Heart of the Sea at West Norwood Library; Voices in a New Land: EWI’s Poetry Competition Awards Celebration; Kurdish and Other Voices at Art Represent; EWI at Albion Beatnik Bookshop, Oxford; Tribunal 2012: Europe Stands Accused with the Writers’ Centre Norwich; Voices from the Lands of Anger: Uprising in the Arab World; Something Happened in Iran; EWI at the Tree House Gallery project, Regents Park; Remembering Mahmoud Darwish at The Gallery, Foyles Bookshop; Somali-Exiled Voices Fusion; Across the Divide: Palestinian and Israeli writers speak out; Forgotten Genocides: Halabja and Anfal, Kosova: Sharing the Pain.

  • Theatre Performances

Writing Home: Production by Exiled and home-based Writers from Bosnia-Herzegovina performed in Mostar and Tuzla; Somali Women Speak Out performed at Hampstead, Soho, Arts Depot, Birmingham Rep, Abbey St Albans, The Junction Cambridge, and Burton Taylor Oxford theatres; Peeling the Skin of Time performed at the New End and Arcola Theatres; And the City Spoke: European Exiled Voices performed in London, Warsaw, Gdynia and Ferrara; A Mouthful of Africa performed at Oxford House theatre.

  • Seminars and Conferences

Hospitality Poetica at Notre Dame University; Stop Violence against Women: Short documentaries by Iranian Women, EWI with ICAVI at the Centre for Gender Studies, SOAS, University of London; Another Land Another Voice at the Soho Theatre and Writers Centre in association with Index on Censorship; Exiled Ink Summer LitFest; Writing Resistance ConFest in association with English Pen, joint seminars with the School of Advanced Study etc. Participation in conferences: Writing Diasporas at Swansea University, Fortress Europe and its ‘Others’ at the School of Advanced Study, University of London, Women, Migration and Human Rights, Casablanca.

  • Literary Activism

Exiled literary voices speak out, act as witness and protest against the abuse of human rights in their countries of origin. Petitions have been signed and letters written at our events. Our Agit Lit nights have included ‘Action for the Silenced of Syria, ‘Uncensored Women’s Words’ by women who were imprisoned and tortured, ‘Kurdish Sisterhood’ focusing on the diverse oppressions against women and their resistance to them, ‘Words for the Silenced’ writing about and from those imprisoned in Iran, ‘Voices of Resistance from Latin America and Spain’ and many more.

  • Across the Divide 

An on-going project which aims to bring together Muslims, Jews, Palestinians, and Arabs generally in a process of exploring ‘the other’ in the face of the intractable Middle East situation and its effect on UK communities. It has comprised a range of activities such as creative writing workshops and live literature events.

  • Festivals

Poetes a Paris festival and the Orllan Literature Festival in Kosova.

  • Exiled Writers Ink Poetry Competition

First Poetry Competition and ‘Voices in a New Land’ Poetry Competition Awards Celebration.
Workshop  TheatreWorkshop